Craving Amsterdam


I am not a tourist!
10/26/09, 11:51 pm
Filed under: business, out and about

I had a fun time at the Expatica “I am not a Tourist” fair, and met so many cool people that my friend Stephanie Ward (Firefly Coaching) introduced me to.  One in particular was the lovely inspiring Jo Parfitt, author of 20-some books, speaker and coach to help people write their life story.
Jo says. “No matter what you are writing, think of your life story. Bring the personal element into your writings.” no matter if it is a book, blog, newsletter or non-fiction.

Here is the order of composing your piece:
1. Compose
2. Review
3. Shitty first draft
4. Review
5. Edit
6. Review
7. Edit

This is the recipe for writing. (make sure you include all of these things into your piece)
1. Character (s)
2. Dialogue
3. Narrative
4. Emotions
5. Description
6. Scene setting
7. Resonance

This was a huge eye-epener for me.  I told Jo “I never write with a dialogue”, and she bopped me on the head and said “start doing it.”  Not really sure how to incorporate all of this into my lower case style of writing?  Sometimes i have characters, never a dialogue or narrative, emotion?? Yeah, OK on description, got to really think about setting the scene and hopefully people resonate with me…
Whew, I have a lot to learn here.  I keep getting tripped up on when to insert quotes on “he said, she said”.

Do I need to take a writing class or a basic English lesson?

Thank you Jo for the work you do to inspire all of us to get out there and just start writing or making our current content more interesting.

joandmel stephanieandjo

Jo and Melody                                     Stephanie and Jo

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It was a blast! And the tasty poffertjes at the end were perfect. ;)

Comment by fireflycoaching

ah yes there is not a poffertjes i will pass up! i need to find one of those little forks now!

Comment by Melody




Leave a Reply

